About Us


The Calder Cannons are an Australian rules football club from the northern suburbs of Melbourne, Australia.

The club competes in the NAB League, the Victorian statewide Under 18s competition, and fields squads in the Under 16s and Under 18s for both boys and girls.

The Club was formed in 1995 after the need for two more metropolitan clubs. The geographic catchment area for the club is the north-western suburbs of Melbourne extending to cover the Macedon Ranges area.

The club’s training base is at Highgate Recreation Reserve, Craigieburn and players are ‘zoned’ to the Cannons if they live in the municipal areas of Moreland, Melbourne, Hume, Moonee Valley, Macedon Ranges, Mitchell (part) and Brimbank (part).

The purpose of the club is to develop players to their ultimate potential and provide players with the opportunity to play at the highest level possible for their age, and to ultimately prepare some to play AFL football through the AFL National Draft. The competition is regarded nationally as the major elite football development program for young players.

Success – Boys

The Calder Cannons have won the most premierships in the NAB League (six) – saluting in 2001, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2009, 2010 – which was formerly known as the TAC Cup from 1992-2018. The Cannons have also been runner-up on three occasions (2002, 2006 and 2014).

Three Cannons players have also been awarded the Morrish Medal (Andrew Horne in 2006, Richard Douglas in 2005 and Flynn Lakey in 2021), which is awarded to the competition’s best player in the Boy’s competition.

Success – Girls

The Calder Cannons are the inaugural premiers of the NAB League Girls Competition where they remained undefeated in the 2017. There was no finals series in 2017 so the Cannons claimed top spot by their win-loss record and percentage.

Sisters Madison and Georgie Prespakis have taken out 3 of the Best & Fairest Awards since the competition has begun. Madison in 2018 and Georgie back-to-back in 2019 and 2021 due to no season in 2020.